GSoC 2023: OpenMRS | Coding period, Week 11

Deborah Kalungi Nsubuga
2 min readAug 16, 2023

As my journey through GSoC 2023 with OpenMRS draws to a close, I’m overwhelmed with satisfaction when reflecting on everything I’ve accomplished during this remarkable period.

In recent developments, I’ve made significant enhancements to the print modal. By replacing the conventional date picker with a date range picker, I’ve elevated the functionality to a new level. Additionally, I’ve refined the print preview for the medications app, resulting in a more polished user experience. The images below offer a visual glimpse of these improvements.

Print Modal with Date Range Picker

Improved Print Preview in Medications App

As the season kicked off, I confidently believed that I had the Print Feature under control, armed with the necessary package and a wave of enthusiasm. However, as the real coding began and our squad meetings intertwined with coffee discussions, I soon realized that there was more complexity than initially met the eye.

Throughout this journey, I successfully implemented the Print Feature across the Vitals app, medication management, and test results. This endeavor has fostered within me a deep appreciation for the React maintainers, whose creation of exceptional packages has greatly streamlined our work. It’s astounding to consider the effort that would be required if we were to build everything from scratch. Equally deserving of my admiration are the senior developers within OpenMRS, whose guidance has illuminated my path by sharing their extensive experience. This journey has indeed been gratifying, and with their unwavering support, I’ve cultivated a seamless user experience for the Print Feature.

Envisioning the day when a patient, particularly one from Uganda, walks away from the hospital clutching a printout that I’ve contributed to fills me with immense pride. It’s a reward that transcends words. I extend my deepest gratitude to my mentors, kyampeire Hadijah and Dennis Kigen, to the senior developers, Vineet Sharma and @Brandon Istenes. Their consistent presence and readiness to aid me have been invaluable in shaping me into a better version of myself. The design team, @Ciarán Duffy and @Paul Adams, deserves special recognition for their remarkable work.

As I conclude my GSoC 2023 journey, I carry forward a profound sense of accomplishment and gratitude. This experience has not only enriched my technical skills but has also strengthened my commitment to contributing meaningfully to the field of healthcare technology. The path ahead may hold new challenges, but armed with the knowledge and support I’ve gained, I’m excited to continue making a positive impact.

--

--