My Experience About I4G Hackathon

Kamaldeen Sulyman
3 min readApr 1, 2022

--

Thank you i4G for this opportunity. The time and resources you have channelled towards developing the youth are laudable. I can’t imagine the sacrifice each and every part of the team makes toward the successful programs.

Choosing a team

The event officially started and all the participants have received the problem statement. When it was time to choose a team, I wanted to join a team that would challenge me to actually do something.

But, I didn’t want to be the sole developer on the team.

So, I sought out a team that also recruited more experienced developers. It so happened that the problem statement involved building a DP Generator website. We have 2 developers and 2 UI/UX Designers, the Bracket team was born.

Working on a project

Finally, it was time to work (or not). After 4 days of the countdown, all our coding was done via in-browser editors in Codesandbox.

Then I realized, I didn’t know how any of this works. I had to get set up with crop.js, which is a concept that I think I understand now, but I’m sure I still have a lot to learn. I remember somehow working on some other Javascript Frameworks. It was pretty stressful. I kept thinking about how I let the team down. I was relieved to know that I didn’t ruin everything.

Those were only a few of my woes before I was finally able to get to work. I had a few assignments. They all involved creating and styling the text and button over the banner image. I was glad to take the job because it was something I knew how to do, or at least I could figure out how to do.

I was reminded to ask Google when I got stuck. As easy as it sounds, I think there is a technique to it. I had to make sure I was asking the right question and that the answers I found were the answers I needed. Later, I learned that no one wanted to do the job that I had to do. I don’t know enough to understand why everyone hates Javascript.

As the hackathon went on, I was able to learn from the other developers.

DP Generator Interface: https://teambracket-dp-generator.netlify.app/

Final Thoughts

Beyond the technical knowledge and experience, I learned a lot from this hackathon. It emphasized the importance of a good team. Others commented on how close-knit we all seemed despite the fact that all members knew each other before the hackathon. It was also cool to see that everyone was learning. That’s just the thing. We had created an environment that was open to learning while it was focused on productivity. We would check in with each other to see their progress and see if they needed help. We would switch roles when appropriate.

I think a lot of the team’s success also came from its leadership.

He also took a facilitator role. Having someone who understood the end goal, and the means to reach it, overseeing the project contributed to our success. I’m glad I participated in this event, I’d do it again.

I recommend others try doing the same, but make sure you find a good team. I personally plan on going to more of these hackathons — you can plan on seeing me at the next I4G Hackathon. Until then, I’ll be making my way through React Native. Maybe then, I will finally understand why everyone hates Javascript.

--

--

Kamaldeen Sulyman

I am an Experienced React Developer. A passionate Software Engineer, Intermediate in building a web app from scratch. Senior 👵 Blockchain Developer.