Life Lessons From Moana

Kami Crume
3 min readFeb 13, 2018

Have you ever seen the movie Moana? If you haven’t I highly reccomend seeing it. It’s definitely one of my personal favorites. Also, just a warning, this blog contains some major spoilers, so if you haven’t seen it, you’ve been warned. Anyways, the entire movie is about Moana trying to restore the heart of Te fiti in order to save her island. She goes on this huge long trek across the ocean, encountering angry cocunuts, an evil hermit crab, and a lava monster named Te kā, all to finally reach Te fiti to restore the heart. But here’s the big twist, Te fiti is gone…or is it? Moana all of a sudden has this huge realization moment that the symbol on Te kā’s chest is the same one that’s on the heart of Te fiti. You’ve probably seen the movie already, so I’ll save you the rest of the details. But as you know, Moana has this huge touching moment with Te kā as she sings a song to her about knowing who she is as she places the heart back in Te kā’s chest and all her lava mask comes off, revealing the beautiful Te fiti once more.

Te kā and Moana

But the coolest part about that whole scene is the lyrics that Moana sings to Te kā.

I have crossed the horizon to find you, I know your name.
They have stolen the heart from inside you, But this does not define you.
This is not who you are, You know who you are.
Who you truly are.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about friendships and how many people tend to get walked all over, myself included. As I was thinking about this, I started to kick myself for being so naive. I didn’t understand why I kept going back to the same exact people that hurt me. But the more I thought about it, I realized that I was Moana. On the outside I saw the huge lava monster that was constantly trying to destroy me, but instead of believing that’s all they were, I was able to look past that and see the true beauty that was within, and that’s what I held on to.

People just want someone to believe in them. Someone who sees all their faults, all their masks, all their “problems,” and doesn’t even think twice, but only sees them for how beautiful they truly are. But, becasue deep down they don’t think they’re worthy of that type of recognition, they put a mask on. And sadly, people can wear different masks for so long, that eventually, they don’t remember which is the mask and which is really them anymore.

So, Life Lessons From Moana:
#1. Don’t let someone steal your heart
.
#2. Don’t let someone steal your beauty.
#3. Don’t ever let yourself forget who you truly are.

Remember, there’s a Te Fiti inside of every Te kā; it’s up to you which one you’re going to be.

--

--