Beat the smartphone with the tested feature phone: Nokia 3310

Kamran Nabi
3 min readMar 14, 2017

As I sipped my coffee sitting in the dining hall while staring at the 6 inches smart phone screen, my eyes caught a news that brought me back old memories. It was the relaunch of Nokia 3310. I started to ponder over the reasons to relive the past and came up with some basic advantages containing a nostalgic touch.

Catering to the elderly

Few days back, my father told me to teach him so that he can use a smartphone. While teaching him, I figured out that he was struggling in finding buttons on a touch screen and this made him press the wrong buttons most of the time. The benefit of using a Nokia 3310 is that you can easily find the dial pad as it is in the form of large buttons. The elderly most of time use the basic features such as calls and messages and are least concerned about the internet access. The new shape of Nokia 3310 has a modern touch together with the features of an old phone which can easily be used by our elders.

Are you using a landline phone?

Moving on, aren’t you tired of charging your smartphone again and again that it seems more like a landline phone instead of a mobile phone? The all new Nokia 3310 has a stand buy battery that lasts up to a month and offer a talk time of 22 hours. People are often seen with another device called power bank along smartphones in order to tackle the battery problem. But that increases weight in the pocket and is difficult to carry everyday.

The symbol of strength

The giant smart phones are sometimes so big that they are difficult to carry single-handedly. The problem is that it results in people dropping the phone several times. Modern phones are complicated and delicate. They cannot withstand such damages. I often hear people around complaining about damaged screens which cost them a lot of money for replacement of the screens. Such is not the case with old fashioned phones and is for sure not the case in Nokia 3310. We often find memes on the internet displaying Nokia 3310 as a symbol of strength. That is actually true. I have not heard a single person saying that he has got his Nokia 3310 damaged. You will be amazed to hear that one of my friends still has a Nokia 3310 which is over a decade old. That decade old phone still works perfectly.

The talk of the town

If you are around the age of 23, same as mine, or more, then you must remember the times we spent on playing the awesome game called “Snake”. I used to dedicate my whole day in playing the game trying to beat my own high score. When my friend used to succeed in beating my high score, that would annoy me. I used to take that challenge very seriously and try different techniques to break the score of my friend. The high score was talk of the town in those days.

To sum it up, I am not saying that Nokia 3310 is a replacement for the current high tech phones. It certainly does not offer the features which have become the need of the modern world. In my opinion the phone caters to a niche market. Some people will buy only to relive the past and some will use it as a permanent part of their life. Personally, I thinks it is a good step taken by Nokia to offer the flagship model one more time. Perhaps, this is the revival of Nokia.

--

--