The Adventures of Traveling Solo

It’s not brave, it’s not sad, it’s not lonely. It just is… freeeedoooooommmmmmm.

Jessica Lam
6 min readAug 19, 2015

--

First couple days into this workation and I’m already full of stories to tell! Few things feel as free as being thrown into an unfamiliar culture, without knowing a soul, and expected to survive and have fun on your own.

Before I left, a couple times it came up in convesations that I was coming to Greece for 3 weeks. Statistically people do not travel solo for that long, so the range of responses I got was very interesting to me. There were mainly 3 broad categories of responses:

  • “Wow I can never do that, I want to try that someday.”
  • “Awww…”
  • “You must be really introverted”

“Wow I can never do that”

I’m most curious about this response, what specifically keeps people from it? Sometimes it’s logistics, sometimes it’s the expense, but it seems more often than not it’s fear. Fear of the unknown is one of the greatest hinderance to having what you want in life. Social fears can be especially crippling.

--

--

Jessica Lam

Engineer mind, artist soul, nomad spirit, entrepreneur drive. Serial entrepreneur, technical advisor, multiple exits.