Cherry Blossom and Bonn (Day 6)

A Nobody
4 min readAug 10, 2018

--

Bonn is the birthplace of our greatest musician and composer, Beethoven. At first, I thought it would be more or less similar to Vienna but I was so wrong LOL. Bonn is a very peaceful and quiet city where you couldn’t really see a lot of musicians performing around the city (comparing to Paris).

Being the hometown of Master Beethoven, you could always find his images everywhere — his statue was right at the square, his image down on the ground, those souvenirs which were printed with his face… and of course his house.

LOL to the pigeon standing on Beethoven’s head.

(1) Universität Bonn

This is where my German friend studies. The campus itself has a large plot of grassland right before the yellowish main building. Coincidently, this was also the place where some of my adorable professors completed their studies. The campus was quite large and they got a botanical garden (including a greenhouse) inside which was managed and monitored by the agricultural students. That was a really relaxing place and I wish I could have this in my home institution too.

They created a little wood on campus
Flow Book shelves are around campus.
inside one of the academic building
No idea why they would place a statue inside the building.
Cloudy of the day but the river view was still stunning :)))

(2) Beethoven-Haus (Beethoven House)

There was no reason for not dropping by the Beethoven House in Bonn. I did a small research about this place on Wikipedia before and it is now served as a multifunction place, like a museum and a research centre for people who would like to conduct research about this great composer and his masterpieces. Unfortunately I got there after the closing hour so I could not pay for a visit inside. :(

The locked green gate

Wandering in this region was fun. This city was like a mixture of commerce and and culture. You could find a lot of different nice shops in this shopping area, however, the stores themselves had their own styles and characteristics.

This was a place for selling tea. At the lower floor, they sold tea leaves. At the upper floor, it was a dining place.
They got beautiful (costly) cups inside. >_ <
The mobile book store/shop. They sold really cheap books and post cards. Love their style of running a business like this. :)))
Bonn Box: You could dropped anything that you didn’t want to keep here. A the same time, you could also pick anything you thought they were useful and brought them home for free :))) Personally, I quite like this idea.

The above Bonn box was located in front of a church:

Church in Germany was so different from those in France.

Shut up and take my money series:

Currywurst

It was not really cooked with curry. They added curry powder on it instead :0)

1€ per scoop ice-cream

I am so dead :P This was the blueberry cheesecake flavour

If the weather wasn’t that cold, I knew I would have at least 3 scoops of ice-cream every day. -___-

(3) Cherry Blossom Avenue

Before the trip, I imagined I would enjoy the Cherry blossom showering along the path at Bonn. Once I got there, the trees were still not yet blossomed much. ._. To be honest I was quite disappeared at that time.

And when I kept walking around and finally:

We found one street that was full of cherry blossoms (and bees)

Tah-dah! I came all the way to there because of THIS! I was just so lucky to have an opportunity to take a look at this! Though they didn’t blossom that much but I still enjoyed having a walk underneath. :))))

The sunset time was like 8-ish or 9pm in Germany. (again, I still hadn’t got use to that…)

The city at night.

--

--

A Nobody

Being nostalgic all the time. A believer of “a simple act of caring creates an endless ripple”. Zwischen Immer und Nie.