Kapaeloa Aki: Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship 2022

Kapaeloa Aki
2 min readNov 8, 2022

--

Aloha, my name is Kapaeloa Aki, and I am a recipient of the 2022 Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship.

Since both of my parents are teachers, I knew from an early age the importance of a good education. I learned that education is a pivotal part of both a sustainable community and of a developed and well-rounded individual. Through education I learned the importance of hard work, and how through dedication we can achieve our goals.

Ever since I was young I aspired to pursue a career in the scientific field. I enjoyed analyzing things, learning how they worked, and acquiring more knowledge. As I progressed through school my passion for the scientific field grew and I joined various science-oriented clubs, classes, electives, and projects.

After graduating from Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i this past May, I am now enrolled at Brigham Young University — Hawaii. At BYU-H I plan to complete my prerequisites and work towards obtaining a bachelor’s degree as a computer science major. After receiving my bachelors I plan to get a Master‘s degree in computer science at another university to better prepare me for the competitive job market, and to enhance my skills and knowledge to the best of my ability. I hope to use this education towards a career as a software engineer or in a similar occupation in the computer science field.

I hope that I will be able to use my knowledge in this specific branch of science to not only assist the computer science community, but also in other industries that require computer systems and applications to effectively function. I also aspire to use my skills to develop new technologies, ease the lives of others, and solve modern-world problems. I intend to use my future degree to serve the Hawaiian community by accumulating knowledge to give back, and by improving the quality of life in Hawaii with a growth mindset and community conscience.

To reiterate, I am sincerely grateful to have been chosen to be a recipient of the 2022 Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship. This scholarship has given me the motivation and support that I need to further my dreams, especially in a male-dominated field with little Native Hawaiian representation. With this opportunity my financial burdens have been immensely eased as I pursue higher education as a full-time student. I hope that more Native Hawaiians who are struggling to make their academic dreams a reality will be able to gain the foundation and encouragement that this scholarship has provided me.

--

--