David Kapaya
3 min readJul 4, 2023

GROWING UP IN A JEHOVAH’S WITNESS HOUSEHOLD:

David Kapaya

I was born into a Jehovah’s Witness family. My parents were both active in the religion, and I was raised to believe in its teachings. I attended congregation meetings and participated in the ministry of Jehovah’s witnesses from a young age.

When I was a little kid, my parents divorced. My mother stopped attending Jehovah’s Witness meetings and started attending other churches. She would often take me to these churches with her, but I never felt comfortable there. I always felt like an outsider, and I never really connected with the other people in the congregation.

A few years later, my brother started giving my mother books about Jehovah's Witnesses. She read them and eventually decided to return to the religion. I was happy to see her back, and I started attending meetings with her again.

However, my mother's commitment to Jehovah's Witness was not always consistent. She would sometimes stop attending meetings for weeks or even months at a time. This was always difficult for me, because I felt like I was being pulled in two different directions.

Despite my mother's ups and downs, I never wavered in my faith in Jehovah's Witnesses. I knew that this was the religion for me, and I was determined to stay faithful.

One of the elders in my congregation was always there to support me. He would come to my house and study the Bible with me. He also helped me to understand the teachings of Jehovah's Witnesses and to answer any questions that I had.

I am grateful for the support of the elder and for the teachings of Jehovah's Witnesses. They have helped me to grow in my faith and to become a better person. I am proud to be a Jehovah's Witness, and I know that I will always be a part of this community.

*MY MOTHER’S BELIEFS ABOUT HEALING*

My mother believes that Jehovah's Witnesses only have the spirit of teaching, not healing. She says that all the other churches that she has attended have a spirit of healing.

I understand my mother's concern about healing. She has seen people in other churches be healed of physical ailments, and she wants me to have the same opportunity. However, I believe that Jehovah's Witnesses do have the power to heal.

I have seen people in my congregation be healed of emotional and spiritual pain. I have also seen people find comfort and support in the congregation when they are going through difficult times.

The Brothers

I believe that Jehovah's Witnesses have the power to heal because they have the truth. When we follow the teachings of Jehovah's Witnesses, we are living in harmony with God's will. And when we are in harmony with God's will, we are able to experience His blessings, including healing.

I am grateful for the healing that I have experienced in my life as a Jehovah's Witness. I know that I am not alone, and I know that I have the support of my congregation. I am confident that Jehovah will continue to bless me and heal me in the future.

jw.org.com