Exercise 2: Symbol

Kara Chen
4 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Make up your mind! For this exercise, we were exploring how graphic symbols represent and communicate complex ideas while maintaining a minimalistic look. The idea that I decided to communicate through symbols is deciding to pass a person on the right side or the left side. I chose to represent this idea based on personal experience as I have collided with many people on the streets because of this indecisiveness. In addition, the final product of this exercise presents itself as a gif. Creating a gif requires framing out and introducing the idea in a physical form and then creating the necessary products for the animation.

I begin this exercise by creating four frames. At the time, I only wanted to represent this idea in four frames as I felt that it should be kept simple.

Walking Frame
Running Frame 1
Alert Frame
Collision Frame

I chose yellow and black as the main color scheme because it has a sense of caution and also emphasizes the sign‘s warnings and instructions. Yellow is also a natural color to spot at night and prominent during the day. I kept the figures as simple geometric shapes ranging from circles to rounded rectangles. To depict movement, I drew lines on different areas that require the action of the character.

Decision Frame 1
Left or Right? “Left Frame”

These two frames showcase the development of this idea. I expanded my four frame limit to simply animating the entire scene, which includes the figure trying to make a decision on whether it should walk left or right. Here, I used text to help express the figure’s decision-making process.

Chaotic Questioning Frame

In the next few steps of this exercise, the frames became more chaotic to emulate the anxiety of a person when he or she is trying to make a decision. I played with illustrating the arrows and directing each of them around the figure. Moreover, I included question marks for further emphasis on the situation. Because of this, I created more frames depending on how I want the arrows to fill up space. In the animated gif, It begins with one indicator, and it slowly increases and adding the question marks.

Game Over Frame

In my final frames, I created a collision scene to communicate that indecisiveness can lead to other people not understanding which direction you want to take; therefore, causing an accidental yet awkward moment in the middle of the street or path. Just like the other scenes, the crash “icon” increases in size, which ends the gif with a black screen.

Final Gif

The images above are the final gif after all of my process work in creating it. Overall I am happy with how the gif turned out, and I believe it communicates my idea clearly while still maintaining a minimalistic appeal in terms of subjects and color. One thing that I want to improve in the future is the smoothness in the frame transition, as some switches appear to be choppy. What I learned in the exercise is how to simplify an idea by developing a stable foundation, which was the four frames.

--

--