My Year of Books

The 50 books I read. brought to you by Goodreads.

Kera Hollow
3 min readDec 25, 2023

--

Screenshots from the author's very outdated Galaxy s9

I spent the year dedicating a lot of time to reading my nonfiction. In 2022, I only read 4 nonfiction books and they ended up being some of my favorites.

My interests tended to lean toward Animals and History. Eating Animals, Why Fish Don’t Exist, and On Animals were all incredible reads that taught me a lot about the (often ugly) world around me. Eating Animals in particular I owe a moment of gratitude toward because it solidified my decision to cut down on my meat consumption, and although this decision might not be for everyone, I’ve genuinely felt happier and more active after switching to a more plant-based diet.

I also read some amazing memoirs. On Writing and I’m Glad My Mom Died gave me a lot of introspection on my career path and my interpersonal (and often codependent) relationships.

Another screenshot from the author

I present to you my shortest and longest reads of the year.

Claire Keegan’s novella blew me away and reminded me how great character-building and seemingly simple stories about love and acceptance can capture an audience just as deeply as any high-action, high-fantasy novel…

--

--

Kera Hollow

Hi everyone! I'm an author and poet. I'm currently in the process of writing my debut novel ~ ☆ You can support me on Ko-Fi here: https://ko-fi.com/kerahollow