Through the lens of inclusion

Kara Melissa
4 min readOct 10, 2019
copyright @freeastrees

The term ‘inclusion lens’ was recently brought to my attention. As a parent of a child with a disability, I have it. I’m always on the look out for the accessible way to approach EVERYTHING. As a sibling to a child with a disability, my daughter has it; noticing whether a shop is accessible or not determines whether we can go in. She once redesigned our previous home full with ramps, her own sketches and all. She’s seven. My husband has it, carrying our physically disabled son to the top of the play structure so he can be included in the game of pirates and mermaids with his sister and her friends. We live it every day. But we need folks that don’t live it to start using it. Let’s start at school.

When I received two different field trip permission forms on the same day, each for different school-wide trips, I was confused. And then angry. I have two kids in an alternative public school. Alternative because they accept kids that don’t live in their catchment area (my daughter) and also partially integrate kids with physical disabilities (my son). It was one of only eight integrated programs in over 500 city public schools that could possibly accommodate both of my kids. Previously my son attended congregated sites for kids with physical disabilities and more recently my daughter started kindergarten at the school across the street. So we moved and I advocated for my kids to go to school…

--

--

Kara Melissa

Stay at home mom. Grad student. Writer. Advocate. Activist. Former international school teacher. Part-time optimist. Transplant Torontonian.