3 Melodies, 3 Musicians: “Chase” (Part 2)

Nikita Kardakov
2 min readSep 15, 2017

--

Following the release of our soundtrack I will tell 3 stories about melodies we recorded and about wonderful musicians we recorded them with.

“Chase” is the heart and soul of our movie. I had this C — G–Eb, C–G–Gb sequence in my head while me and Anton were still writing a script. And we tried to make decisions based on this music somehow. And I think we were sending [this] version to our potential collaborators before shooting. It is very interesting to go through different versions of the song. In [this] version I’ve realised that we gonna use pair of battling clarinets. And in [this] one I decided to use “New Orleans” drum beat for it. So this last version doesn’t sound that far away from the final one. But of course nothing beats the feeling of your MIDI parts becoming alive with help of your amazing fellow musicians.

We wanted music to follow certain “movements” in the film so on the picture above I am explaining what’s going on in it to our wonderful Yaron Engler. Eventually him and Alexander Titov were playing in-sync with the film. And I came as close as I ever was to being a conductor. I hope you will see the effect in the film. Right after I showed the clips Yaron said: “I gonna record some really crazy shit for you man”.

Yaron is not simply a musician but the power of nature. I felt after recording that we could very well rob a bank together after the session. Snap! Studios has a wonderful set of controllable lights in both live and control rooms and he insisted on very sexy lights as soon as we arrived. And apart from getting some really nice shots after this we had a wonderful atmosphere during the recording. And who am I to tell about his musical skills: Yaron had 20 ideas about every track in general and ideas about different styles of drumming of course. And I was not surprised to find out afterwards that apart from doing musical projects and workshops and TEDx talks all over the world he also does a lot of mentoring and many other interesting things so go and check out yourselves: http://yaronengler.com/.

One more story left. You can find our soundtrack here: Spotify, Apple Music / iTunes, Deezer, Tidal, Bandcamp.

--

--