Karen Unrue
Oct 11, 2021

LIVING WITH COMPLEX PTSD

I DARE NOT GIVE IT VOICE

A muted waterfall hits the rocks inside of me.

A silent sobbing.

I dare not give it voice, for should I start,

I fear I’d never stop.

Ive been walking now, it seems, for ever

So to stumble again

on rocks that I know belong in the past

feels like despair.

I right myself, and finding fresh stability,

I continue forward.

I’ll not stop moving till I’m “all the way” free.

No, not till I’m there.

I want to sink my face into a pillow

and cry forty years of pain –

but I dare not give it voice, for should I start,

I fear I’d never stop.

Karen Unrue

Karen Unrue

I’m curious, interested, engaged. I write prose and poetry about a lot of stuff. Thanks to life’s sharp edge I live with CPTSD so I write about that too.