The 4-step framework to pain-free spiritual growth

Karim
3 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

Ego (this thing in all of us that this is a bit too possessive đŸ€Ș) is the #1 blocker of spiritual growth.

Who doesn’t want some spiritual growth, right ? Well, not so much when it’s painful, yea ? 😁

I had my “spiritual awakening” about 2 years ago, and that happened when my ego was it’s highest point probably.

Even if I didn’t achieve anything great in my life, at that time, I somehow thought I was so better than others.

I was more “spiritual”, “I knew better”, and I “needed to help others”

I didn’t really believe in science, or in therapy.

I think I actually sort of gave up on life because I didn’t find the success I wanted.

So “spirituality” was my escape. (Not real spirituality, rather “I’m better than others” spirituality)

For me, people that had mental health issues were
weak.

Yea
 I know


Well, it turned out, I was (obviously) (very) WRONG! And I had a lot to LEARN 😁

Hence, life traded some of my ego for some learning, some spiritual growth!

Without going in too much of irrelevant details, here’s how it looked like :

After playing with some drugs, I ended in bad mental health myself.

(But really it was just the result of the compound effect of past decisions, and non-made decisions)

Living in fear, regret and shame. For a while.

Enough to learn the lessons, I guess.

It’s called a spiritual gift!

And so what’s the lesson here in terms of ego ?

The higher the ego, the less we think we have to learn, change and evolve.

The lower the ego, the more humble, and the more we can learn, change and evolve without painful experiences.

Gradually, consistently, smoothly, on a day-to-day basis.

So, this is how you keep the ego in check : Always be a student.

“I don’t know how to do this!”

“I’m terrible at this! But I wanna learn how to do it.”

You think you know something about a subject ? Think again 😊 There is a lot you don’t know!

Hence, the best way to lower the ego, is to :

  1. Constantly find areas where you are a dummy 😅
  2. Acknowledge it, and most importantly, claim it !
  3. Seek guidance to get better at it. This is the most important and hardest part for most people, because entering any type of coaching is you admitting your “ignorance” ! It’s the most direct way to put your ego aside (and well, also to get results the fastest way possible).
  4. Notice your improvement and what you’ve been able to achieve. Give yourself props!
  5. (Rinse and repeat.)

The idea is to lower your ego yourself, consistently, and not have life do it for you ;)

That’s the healthy way of doing it, in my opinion.

What’s your experience with ego ?

Subscribe to read my next stories :

  • The secret currency of the Universe
  • The #1 mindset shift to turn painful experiences into growth and healing
  • You don’t have intrusive thoughts — Here’s the deal.
  • This 1 habit is changing my life
  • The emotions playbook : How to free yourself from negative emotions and raise your vibration
  • Do the upgrade, in order to receive the update you’ve been waiting for
  • How I’ve fallen into the trap of spirituality and almost killed myself. (Spiritual escapism)
  • The #1 mistake of spiritual seekers
  • Will you allow yourself to heal ?
  • Where to find Source Energy ?
  • Social Media & Money ARE spiritual

--

--

Karim

Software engineer, thinker, and creator. I share what I learned this last 10 years, in the field of consciousness applied to personal growth and business.