Hebrides Info: Scotland and the Hebrides Call Me Back

Karin Bauer
4 min readDec 6, 2017

I have traveled to many places more than once because I feel they call me back. However, it took just one visit to this particular destination for me to long to return for future visits. In August 2014, I decided to make a repeat visit to Great Britain, including London and Edinburgh.

I also decided to include some new destinations, including the Scottish Highlands and the Outer and Inner Hebrides. The Orkney and Shetland Islands were included as well. I had never visited the Highlands or Hebrides before, and this was my chance to include something new in a previously visited country.

I thought the best way to do this was a cruise. Finding cruises that travel around the Scottish Highlands was a challenge. After a few Google searches, I found a British cruise line called Fred Olsen. I had never heard of them before, but all I cared about is that they had cruises to the Hebrides, along with Orkney and Shetland. This cruise was a good way to see many of my dream destinations in one trip.

I had a direct flight from Philadelphia to London. I was happy to see London again. Because this was my first solo overseas trip, I was glad to be in a familiar country, especially one with no language barrier. I spent the night in London, then took a train to Edinburgh the next morning. I enjoyed the train ride, viewing…

--

--

Karin Bauer

I love horseback riding and traveling — and combining the two. I am also a writer/travel writer and blogger, and business owner.