A READS FOR THE REST OF US BOOK REVIEW

To All the Books I’ve Loved Before

Genevieve Hudson’s A Little in Love with Everyone

Karla J. Strand
7 min readMay 29, 2018

--

Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden (Karla J. Strand)

Can one be in love with a book?

Like, have an ongoing relationship with it in which you spend time with it, learn new things from it, appreciate and value it, grow from it?

And I’m not talking about being in love with a book like some of those women are in love with, like, bridges or the Eiffel Tower. (You know you watched that show too, don’t lie.)

I feel as bibliophiles, we are touched by books, especially those handful of favorites. Our understanding of them, ourselves, and others evolves each time we read them — and we read them many, many times over.

I think I had my first romance of this type with A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I mean, I had many favorite childhood books such as A Wrinkle in Time, Island of the Blue Dolphins, and (like every other young, eager-to-be-grown-up white girl?) ALL the Judy Blume books, but this one was different. Perhaps it was because it was the first time I really understood Shakespeare. Or maybe it was spritish Puck. I don’t know but for some reason, I just loved it.

--

--

Karla J. Strand

Librarian, writer at Ms. Mag, queer settler historian researching WW’s roles in the oppression of Indigenous peoples. Also: all the books. She/her. Views=Mine