Meme Speaker

Karlee Holzbach
1 min readApr 11, 2017

The presentation wasn’t anywhere near what I expected. A presentation about memes seemed a little silly to me. I see/use memes when communicating on social media sites or texting within my friend group because they explain how you feel about something in a humorous way. Listening to the speaker talk about the philosophical ways that memes have evolved through out the years really opened my eyes to how creative users can be. The most recent meme that I can remember where I thought, “Wow… how do people think of these things?” was the “what in tarnation” memes where users will see everyday items and create a funny ‘…nation’ caption.

These may seem like funny examples, but people all around the world have a chance to create their own “remixes” with a meme caption that will spark more creativity to other users. Who knew that a silly meme would bring out deep philosophical thinking?

--

--