No, you’re not “too” busy

Karolina Rivas
3 min readOct 23, 2017

--

Pineapples and pumpkins, healthy food choices for a well-balanced lifestyle. (via Pexels)

During the course of the next few weeks, I will be sharing my tips on maintaining a healthy lifestyle for journalists with a hectic schedule.

Journalists rarely have a schedule that is set in stone. Meetings vary by source and breaking news is, well, “breaking” at any given moment.

It is easy to forget about the importance of health and wellness when you are struggling to prioritize the various aspects of your life: work, health, learning, and social.

As a journalist, I constantly find myself spending money on fast food in order to avoid the kitchen at all costs. I assumed it was easier to have a meal made for me rather than spending the time to make one myself. The thought of wasting time by cooking when I could be working on my assignments always crossed my mind.

There were times where I only ate one meal a day and fought through the sensation of hunger that eventually, my body adapted to the unhealthy lifestyle.

I sometimes told my friends and family that I was “too busy to eat.” What I really meant was that I was too lazy to cook.

It wasn’t until my appetite grew substantially smaller or I grew exhausted from walking up a flight of stairs, that I knew I had to change.

It is important to understand that health and wellness are not subjected to only food and exercise. This aspect of your life also includes mental health and social well-being.

A piling of rocks is called a cairn. According to AMC Outdoors, some religious traditions use cairns as a way to mark locations for a person to meditate. (via Pexels)

“I‘m too busy.”

This was a phrase I often repeated to my family and friends until one individual refuted my excuse. They claimed that time could be made depending on how badly you care about yourself. Ouch.

If you ask anyone if they cared for themselves, a majority of people would respond with a definite yes. However, what happens when our bodies begin to give in or we deprive ourselves of sleep?

Do we give time to illness?

You’re not alone.

Think of it this way -

When “I” is replaced by “We,” even “Illness” becomes “Wellness.”

Bring your friends and family on your new journey. Motivation will stem from both parties and make the process worthwhile.

Lastly,

If you are unhappy about the way you look, eat, or feel yet do nothing about it, does it give you a right to be upset? Change doesn’t happen on its own and goals take time in order to make progress.

This new goal is important to me because I have pushed it aside for too long. I yearn to become a better person than I was yesterday and that begins with investing in yourself.

I often find myself learning about other people when in reality I do not know myself.

Now, I’m not here to convert you into a vegan or ask you become the Chris Traeger of your friends (although, that would be “literally amazing”) I’m here to guide you, and frankly myself, through the steps of achieving a well-balanced lifestyle.

Here’s to working towards a positive and healthier future! 🥂

--

--

Karolina Rivas

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” || Ernest Hemingway