Million Dollar Journey

I’m 28 and $30k in debt but plan to make a million by 30

Sometimes you need to be a little crazy to make a crazy plan work

Karolina Sur
7 min readJul 25, 2022

--

Annie Spratt for Unsplash

How did I get into this mess?

Lots of uneducated life choices mostly.

When I was growing up, my parent (like pretty much every immigrant family) were cheap. Going out to eat was a once in a year affair, clothing couldn’t cost more than $20 a piece, and $.99 stores were holy. I spent my childhood looking up to my mom’s bosses in Manhattan dressed elegantly in Banana Republic dresses or Zegna suits, and living in neat apartments with furnitures that matched. My only aspiration was to “afford things.”

The adults around me did not know much about finances and preached an outdated mentality to “work hard and save as much as you can in a bank.” How? Why? No one dared to elaborate. The education system failed to educate me about credit cards, inflation, and other things like APRs.

When I got my first job I assisted with bills and with my leftover money focused on buying all materialistic things I was never before allowed to have. Soon I was approved for my first credit card and things just snowballed from there.

--

--

Karolina Sur

Follow for my personal stories, motivational advice and business tips! An editor of Write Me, a Medium Publication with Writing Prompts.