Getting into Toptal: The Entire Process 👐

Karolis Ramanauskas
6 min readJul 16, 2017

Since I got back into contracting I thought it might be interesting to see what else exists out there in terms of marketplaces besides Elance and Upwork, both of which are disappointing and are mostly used for low quality work in my honest opinion.

Some of the ones I found and liked are Crew.co, Gun.io and Toptal.com. But since I have a buddy of mine who works at Toptal and is happy there I decided to give it a shot too.

The main things that make Toptal stand out in my eyes are these:

  1. Airbnb, Zendesk, Pfizer and other interesting companies use Toptal to find workers which is great.
  2. Most of the work are long-term gigs spanning at least several months.
  3. Only Top 3% of people who apply get in.

Knowing that only the Top 3% get in was intimidating to me at first and let me tell you I was not ready for what was waiting ahead. The entire application process is rather strenuous and at least in my case really pushed my limits. Thankfully I passed and now can share the process and some tips for you too!

Here is my experience

1. The first interview is a quick 10-minute Skype chat just to test your English skills, plus to find out your motivation behind applying, how many hours you are…

--

--

Karolis Ramanauskas

Software Engineer, ex-Uber, Toptal 🚕 C.S. graduate 🎓 Experience as a co-founder at several startups 🚀 Fitness and outdoors lover 🌳