Making it to Europe as a Data Analyst from India

Kashyap Barua
3 min readAug 15, 2023

--

Photo by S. Widua on Unsplash

Here is my story about how I made it to Germany from India as a Data Analyst. In a nutshell, this is what we’ll talk about in this article hoping that it might also help you someday.

  • What was going on in my life
  • The moment when it all happened
  • How does it look now

I was working as a Product Analyst in an ad-tech firm based out of Bangalore. The usual weekday routine – wake up, power on laptop, attend stand up, wrap up tasks, bed time.

Apart from the routine, I had nothing to complain about; the pay was good, the culture was amazing and colleagues were super friendly.

Photo by Nishanth Avva on Unsplash

One fine morning I wake up and open my LinkedIn, and I receive this on the 17th May 2021 –

This was my break through moment apparently, and the biggest shock for me was when I realised the company and requirement is based in Berlin.

I worked my a** off to get hired here, it was a make it or break it opportunity.

I will of course share the details of my interview experiences with many Berlin based organisations for another post. But here’s my experience with Zalando for now.

After a month and making it through a couple of rounds, I get this –

It broke my heart.

But this fuelled my energy and motivation to try more for other European companies.

This is how my calendar looked like in the following months (especially August) when I was applying and interviewing back to back.

Even though the first time wasn’t a charm, one of the above was.

In this story, persistence and constant improvement was the key.

Now, I am working as a Data Analyst at Zalando in Berlin, Germany…

…and exploring Europe, one city at a time.

Hope this inspires you to do wonders in your life, and never give up and keep going :)

If you liked my content, please leave a like and follow me for more content.

--

--

Kashyap Barua

Analytics Professional 📈 Here to share my experience, knowledge and skills for the world to read 📰 Data Scientist in making 🎓