I hate when companies don’t send you rejection emails

KasualWriter
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Made by KasualWriter using Canva

I’ve applied for seven internships so far, and all of them have ignored me. I don’t know how long I’m supposed to wait, but it’s been weeks for some and days for others since I applied.

I wish they’d just sent me a rejection email instead of simply ignoring me. Because then, I’m just waiting for an unknown amount of time. It sucks.

The fourth internship application I sent, which was 2 days ago, also hasn’t replied yet. I had my hopes up for this one because it was the most interesting one to me, and I thought that I was a good fit for the role.

However, I will say that they had written in their job posting that “only selected candidates will be contacted.” I understand that there are a lot of applications coming in. But even just writing “only selected candidates will be contacted” isn’t enough, because again, the time I need to wait isn’t stated.

Just as a personal suggestion, if I were HR and we were a large company, I’d add “Only selected candidates will be contacted. If we don’t contact you within a week of your application, consider that you were not selected.”

And if I were the HR director of a small company, I would write a rejection letter and send the same one to each unselected applicant. So at least they aren’t waiting for no reason.

So, if and when I’m ever self-employed in the future and start recruiting people, know that I will reject you without you having to wait a million years.

To people who hate this likewise, you’re welcome in advance.

To follow along my ongoing internship journey, I recommend reading:

Mission Internship 2024

8 stories

--

--

KasualWriter

Undergraduate uni student in Hong Kong. Not a pro writer, I write kasually. Working on a fantasy novel. https://linktr.ee/kasualwriter