Job Hunting is Humbling

KasualWriter
3 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Made by KasualWriter using Canva

Last month, I applied for five paid internships, got one interview, and got rejected from that too. My current income is zero.

My scope for work is limited due to language requirements, most companies want fluent English and Cantonese and now also want Mandarin, which I can’t blame them for. This is Hong Kong after all.

I, unfortunately, can’t speak Cantonese or Mandarin. I can understand and speak a bit of Cantonese but it isn’t enough to put on the resume. Hence, the five internships I had applied for didn’t make such language requirements and so I applied as soon as possible.

I’m looking for a summer job for July and August before my university starts in September preferably an office job with above minimum wage (HK$40), like HK$75 per hour.

Call me delusional but I thought since I was doing well in my studies with good grades, I would have an easier time finding work.

More often than not, your grades don’t mean shit. I mean it helps for the future educational ladder. But on the work ladder, they don’t care as much.

Competition is high and there are people who are better than your best.

They will ask for a degree in that field as a qualification but the work experience holds more value to most companies and will ask for at least 1 year of work experience in that field.

Which, how am I supposed to get if no one hires me in the first place?

My degree is an associate's degree in Human Resources Management and my work experience is mostly in teaching juniors/kids. But I have been trying to get into the business field and need a breakthrough. I can start as an intern, but even that seems discouraging after rejections and even getting ignored.

Schooling alone isn’t enough and selling yourself is tough.

Which is why I’ve been trying to earn some passive income through writing.

Even today, I’m continuing my job hunting and hopefully getting accepted.

Perhaps this is simply a lesson on how much I need to build my skills more that companies wouldn’t reject me and be in a position that makes me irreplaceable.

Ultimately I want to start my own business someday, now I’m trying to earn (& save) money for it and gain experiences from actual companies. I would add a category for paid internships for people with no work experience and add a language course that they can take as part of their training. Training is expensive but it can be life-changing.

When I see my friends who are earning money and doing well in that area. I am happy for them and still feel saddened by my own situation and wondered how my life would’ve looked if I had gone down their paths. The pressure to find a job from family members doesn’t help either.

Regardless, I’ll keep trying. See you in a bit :)

--

--

KasualWriter

Undergraduate uni student in Hong Kong. Not a pro writer, I write kasually. Working on a fantasy novel. https://linktr.ee/kasualwriter