Not Seeing Things That Are Right In Front of You :/

KasualWriter
2 min readJan 23, 2024

--

Made by KasualWriter using Canva

Back when I didn’t have my laptop, I was using the school Chromebook my school gave me once I graduated for HK$50, which broke in a year and a half.

After that, I started using my brother’s new-model touchscreen school Chromebook, which had a stylus pen, and it was the best thing ever.

It made my life a whole lot easier when taking notes. It had the feel of a physical pen, and I was not wasting paper or time by going to the printer every time I needed my lecture notes.

Besides that, I started making drawings and even got into animating using those frame-by-frame drawing apps. It was fun and I liked creating something new.

But once I got my first laptop, which was outside of school, it wasn’t touchscreen.

I gave my brother his laptop back, which he uses a lot. As a result, I stopped doing digital art and experimenting with animation.

This was three or four months ago, and if I remember correctly, I think I didn’t go for a touchscreen because it was not good for programming, was expensive, and had a low battery.

Sometimes I wish I had just gotten a touchscreen laptop instead because I miss drawing and animating.

I was thinking that I needed a tablet and a stylus pen to do those things, which I didn’t have money for.

Until.

This seems obvious now, but I didn’t realize it then. I still had something touchscreen, my phone.

I could just buy a cheap stylus pen to create art and animations on my phone.

My mind was fixed on what I needed to get (a tablet and stylus pen) to do a certain thing. But at the baseline, I don’t need it, and I could just use what I have combined with a cheap alternative.

This thought is so obvious, yet I was so oblivious to it.

Stay tuned for some animations and art! Once my stylus pen comes in, of course.

--

--

KasualWriter

Undergraduate uni student in Hong Kong. Not a pro writer, I write kasually. Working on a fantasy novel. https://linktr.ee/kasualwriter