The Best Interview Moments of David Lynch

Ten times David Lynch gave an incredible interview

Kat Anderson
6 min readAug 29, 2023
repose, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

If someone asked me to define a cool person, I’d say: David Lynch. I just think he has a slightly more advanced operating system than the rest of us. Twin Peaks, to me, was a transformative experience when I was young, so I’m bound to love the guy. But I also think he’s an all-time great when it comes to interviews. There’s a very special brand of David Lynch magic that comes through when he’s talking and it’s a joy to witness, so here are ten of my favourite interview moments with David Lynch:

But what does it all MEAN!?

Quite possibly the greatest category of David Lynch interviews is when people try to entice him to talk about what stuff means. Lynch believes that when it comes to art, the meaning is different to different people, and people should be given the freedom to decide for themselves what something “means” to them, instead of being told what it means according to the person who made it. In one interview, interviewer Mark Kermode shared his theory of electricity in the work of David Lynch:

Mark Kermode: One of the recurrent images in your films is of electricity arcing. Is of, you know, lightbulbs crackling on, and you have a recurrent motif of, you know, like two points and something…

--

--

Kat Anderson

Pop culture enthusiast with a passion for media and entertainment / kat.anders0n@proton.me