The cost of being trans

Kitty Whitemore
3 min readDec 25, 2021

I can only speak to the costs of becoming a trans woman.

Every trans woman knows that there will be personal costs, we will lose some friends, we might lose our marriages, our jobs could be in jeopardy and for far too many trans women it costs them their lives. I’m not here to talk about that today. I am going to talk about the financial cost of social and medical transition for trans women.

Many transgender women are self funded because finding insurance or navigating through the healthcare system is unnecessarily slow and they cannot wait. Other women don’t trust that the care they receive will be acceptable. I’m not familiar with having care covered by insurance. I am self funded.

I never saw a therapist so I didn’t spend the couple grand being told what I already knew. My costs started at Planned Parenthood $260 for the initial visit which included bloodwork. Then another $260 to get the prescriptions. This continues for life. The visits can move to annual after a time. Once you get a prescription you have to buy the meds. Spiro and estriodol pills are reasonably cheap. Pills aren’t Good for older girls, so I use injectable estriodol, $100 per month.

One of the first big expenses is facial hair removal. Laser sessions should be your first step. These sessions will eliminate large…

--

--