This Dimension of Love

Katalyst Kat
2 min readMay 19, 2022

--

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

when you look me in the eyes
when you wipe away my tears
when you sing for me your lullabies
when you erase away my fears

when you lift me into your arms
when you carry me into the bedroom
when you seduce me with your charm
when you have me entirely consumed

when your gaze captures my soul
when your voice swallows me whole
when your touch sets me on fire
when you supersede all that I desire

I hope you recognize
that at the core of all this passion
still remains fragility behind my eyes
wrapped behind coats of love and compassion

for I too am an entire person
with a lifetime of different experiences and lessons
especially because your stories may not match my versions
I hope you’ll take at face value, each and every one of my expressions

You rightfully admire my deeply rooted resilience
but I hope that sometimes you’ll help me re-establish my presence
you are so wonderfully attracted to my so called brilliance
but I hope that you’ll love me even when I need to rekindle my effervescence

when I speak too much out of anxiety
when I ramble too much out of fear
when I think too much about the faults of society
I hope you’ll bring me back into the clear

when I say the wrong things at the wrong time
when I accidentally let my insecurities fall through
when I hold a petty grudge all the way until bedtime
I hope you’ll still love me like you say you do

when I need a little more love
when I request a little more attention
when the time comes, and push comes to shove
I hope you’ll remember this special little dimension

For I’ve found the courage to take this leap of faith
to open my arms, my heart, my soul to this world of possibilities
For I am choosing to believe you will do your very best to keep me safe
to love, to protect, and to care for me to the best of your capabilities

--

--

Katalyst Kat

a little space where dreams and inner feelings are set free; here to practice using words to guide and live by my principles of love, kindness, and compassion.