Mebis

A concept to fundamentally rethink the design of a real-life educational platform.

Katarina Blind
4 min readFeb 19, 2023

Problem

After using a modern educational service in Canada, I was disappointed with what I had to use for school in Germany. After a very confusing and complex registration process, I could hardly discover the right login feature and struggled to find my classes.

The website is called Mebis.

Unfortunately, the school system here is rather old fashioned. So after asking my teachers I was told that we were prohibited from using other services as this website is provided by the bavarian ministry of education.

Since the COVID lockdowns we had to use this platform frequently which increased my frustration. I’ve noticed the same attitude towards Mebis with not only my classmates but also teachers.

Solution

This got me thinking: Maybe we’re not allowed to use another service but I can still try to create a simple, modern and intuitive version of the same website. I decided to design a mobile and desktop app instead of the web based service ensuring a more optimized user experience.

Process

In the beginning of 2020, I created a very simple mobile app. Its’ colors and typography noticeably contrast the original design to highlight the more modern interface. However it still heavily relied on the website’s infrastructure and user flows.

I later realized that these flows were flawed and a significant contributor to my and others’ exasperation with this experience. This started the process of design thinking and low fidelity wireframing which resulted in three different products.

To cater to each user type there is a mobile and desktop app with different versions for students and teachers. I also created a desktop app “Mebis admin” which the school can use for administrative and organizational purposes.

While my original design was very minimal, I focused on providing all of the powerful features wrapped in an intuitive experience for this updated version.

I decided to decrease the complexity for the visual design. To better fit the sophistication of this service I used the original blue, increased whitespace and used light greys as subtle accents. The combination of bold and subtle color contrast then creates mature but interesting aesthetics.

Students

The students mobile app mainly focused on being up to date with the latest information. This can appear in the form of messages, documents for classes or assignments. While this experience is designed for quick check ins, it also allows for in depth browsing and learning in Mebis’ extensive digital library.

The desktop app utilizes the power and display of a laptop to view documents, educational videos or hand in assignments. The other features are obviously provided as well to ensure users are not missing out on crucial functionalities.

Teachers

The version for teachers originates in a similar framework but adapts to their unique workflow. Their phones are a fundamental part in managing small tasks, staying updated about the status of assignments and reading the latest messages.

On the computer, teachers can upload documents, create and manage classes. Of course, these and more essential features exist cross platform.

Administrative

This specialized platform acts as an interactive database. It can also create new accounts and various methods of messages to keep all members informed.

Outcomes

My teacher discovered this project and shared it on twitter. It gained some attention which enabled me to talk to a member of the Bavarian parliament about my ideas.

Further developments are still unclear as fast pace and progressive thinking aren’t common yet in the German political and educational system. But because of this situation, I’ve met some very motivated and modern folks who also want to make a difference. So who knows what might happen.

Unlisted

--

--