Supporting Small Business and Entrepreneurs

Katarina Lee
3 min readFeb 17, 2023

--

Katarina Lee is an HR consultant and writer based in Texas focusing on authentic workplace culture. She has a decade of professional experience from operational support to leadership management.

For the last six years, I have lived in Austin, Texas: our state capital and newly-proclaimed Silicon Hills. With so many start-ups, there are endless opportunities for career growth. I’ve worked with c-level executives and founders — assisting them in daily operations, recruiting, and internal branding.

As a people person, I fell naturally into HR early in my career. I empower my mission of authentic employer values and genuine inclusion by providing HR services to small and growing teams. I enjoy working with industry leaders and entrepreneurs nationwide, both in-person and remotely.

Photo by Carlos Alfonso on Unsplash

Workplace Culture and Genuine Inclusion

I’ve supported entrepreneurs by listening to what people genuinely want and need from employers — how culture takes more than an occasional happy hour and what it means to build a genuinely inclusive environment.

As a Certified HR Professional, I prioritize people over services and products to achieve operational excellence. Providing a genuine service or an authentic product takes a strong foundation of people from day one. In a disrupted world, we need more people-focused leaders.

We need companies who not only provide compensation but provide support. Leaders who respect and inspire their teams. Who believe their brand begins with who they are as an employer first and a business second.

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Small and Growing Business Needs

More often than not, start-up founders have to hire essential team members without the support of skilled HR professionals. Some assume it isn’t a priority until specific laws kick in. However, one employee matters enough to scale effectively and to provide a healthy and inclusive workplace.

As business takes off and people are spread thin, the cracks will begin to show in the foundation. They are risking lower retention rates and poor employee satisfaction. Outsourcing HR needs is an excellent option for new business owners who want to build a healthy environment from day one.

This solution is why I offer services and prepaid packages for all budgets. In August, I started a consulting service to provide virtual support for early-stage start-ups and small businesses.

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

My vision is to build a complete support service that includes employee relations, employer marketing, internal communications, recruitment, onboarding, and training services at an affordable and flexible rate — allowing founders and owners to collaborate earlier over Workplace Culture, Employee Development, and D&I Strategies.

This past summer, I moved back to my hometown of San Antonio, Texas. I live with my husband, RJ, and two golden retrievers, Peyton and Duncan. I love writing, reading, and a good documentary.

I am working with a local small business, helping transition an in-person team to a remote-friendly workplace. I am available for additional projects and remote support. For pricing and more info, click here.

--

--