Why the iPhone 8 Plus is the most reliable phone I’ve ever owned.

Kizito Katawonga
3 min readMar 14, 2018
Image courtesy of Unsplash

In every scenario, you can rely on the iPhone to perform superbly.

I spend a lot of time following tech news and I’ve never once heard the new iPhone 8 Plus described as reliable. But after 4 months of owning Apples eighth generation iPhone, reliable is the perfect word to use.

Reliable means consistently good in quality and performance. This has been my experience with the iPhone so far. Its performance is impressive no matter what I’m doing.

A great smartphone should have a great screen, a powerful CPU and great cameras. But it must also have a battery that won’t die on them in the middle of the day while doing all that. The iPhone 8 plus ticks all these boxes with room to spare.

The A11 Bionic CPU flies through everything you throw at it. iOS, third–party apps, games and media all run very well. The fantastic cameras help you take pro–level photos and the glass–backed design is pleasing to the eyes.

But the pièce de résistance is the battery life.

It’s incredible. Modern smartphones have large touchscreens, fast processors and slimmer bodies. Battery’s aren’t keeping up though. Not since the Nokia’s of old have our phones been able to last days on a single charge.

Only the best smartphones are capable of making it to 9pm after getting off the charger at 6am. The iPhone will often have half it’s battery left under similar circumstances. To illustrate how impressive this is, here is a sample of my daily phone usage.

  • 2 hours on Apple News and Flipboard gobbling up the latest technology and gaming news.
  • Checking my Twitter hourly and browsing the web through out the day.
  • 30 minutes of phone calls
  • All day WhatsApp messaging with a ton of photo’s, GIFS, silly videos and voice notes.
  • Three email accounts syncing for my work and personal email. I have major inbox zero OCD.
  • Several photographs and lots of scrolling through my Instagram
  • An hour of 4G YouTubing, streaming music on Spotify and listening to podcasts.
  • Wi-fi, bluetooth and location services turned on all the time.

The iPhone 8 Plus has a battery that gives me two or more days on a single charge.

This screen capture of my battery stats says it all.

My previous phone, a Samsung Galaxy Note 5, had a larger 3,000mAh battery compared to the iPhone’s 2,675mAh. It would have been begging for a charger by mid-afternoon with this kind of usage. The iPhone, will have 50–60% of its battery left by late evening. And it will barely use any power when left idle overnight.

If you, like me, use all the amazing features on your phones yiu understand the gravity of having a weak battery. It’s like trying to drive a Lamborghini in a 40mph zone. Before my iPhone 8 Plus, having a spare charger or battery pack was an inescapable necessity.

Synthetic benchmark test from PhoneArena

“An average screen–on–time of 9 hours continually blows my mind”

I can’t tell you how much peace of mind I have now. I never worry that my phone will die on me if i watch that video or take those pictures of my daughter playing in the sand. No matter what you are doing, you can rely on the iPhone 8 Plus to easily get you through the day.

In a market saturated with so many fantastic phones, the iPhone 8 Plus is a proverbial Unicorn. Powerful technology, a great user experience and exceptional battery are nirvana for me.

So while it isn’t the shiniest or sexiest phone, the iPhone 8 Plus is one the most reliable phones money can buy.

--

--

Kizito Katawonga

God’s beloved son, Designer, Geek, Gamer, Writer, Husband and Dad finding his way through this human experience.