This Is What R*pe Culture Looks Like In “Therapy Speak”

--

I was reading this and nodding my head until I get to the part where it says that in matters of sexual “compatibility” BOTH partners must compromise.

That is a firm no from me.

If you aren’t in the mood to have sex, you shouldn’t have to have sex. Ever.

That is upholding r*pe culture.

And r*pre culture is always toxic.

For context, I am the partner with the higher drive in my relationship and I will never want my partner to compromise by having sex when they don’t want to. That is toxic and sets up some awful dynamics- especially for sexual assault survivors.

I only have sex when both of us are in the mood.

Period.

Anything else is gross 🤢

--

--

Katherine Grace

Katherine Grace is a neurodivergent, disabled writer. If you'd like to help support my research, writing, and emotional labor: ko-fi.com/katherinegrace