A mega list of UX writing resources

Books, articles and podcasts to feed your UX writer mind

Katherine Bradshaw-Jones
4 min readNov 28, 2018

A little over a year ago, I landed my very first job in UX.

UX never felt like a career option for me. It just wasn’t on my radar, because it’s for designers right? People who are good with visuals and typography and all that wizardry? And design doesn’t have much to do with words, does it? (Oh now there’s an article for another day…).

So, anyway. It turns out I was wrong. Words have a LOT do with design. I knew it at the time, even if I didn’t Know It. But to a freelance copywriter who’d spent six years churning out content in the haze of little-person parenting, it felt many worlds away.

Pre-UX: being oblivious to the cult of post-it.

Then, a job ad. With the BBC. Well hello, behemoth employer on my doorstep. But UX Writer…now what the heck is this shiny new job title all about? I mean, I write. I’ve written professionally for over ten years. UX though? Hmmm nope, that’s not what I do. Is it? (Plot twist: turns out that yes, I was doing UX — I’d just been describing it with different vocabulary. Irony much?)

Of course, I apply. And I get the job. Yesssss!!

Then…oh crap. What the hell are you doing you nitwit! You know nothing about UX. Hello, imposter syndrome. We’ve been here before, haven’t we. I’d better slay you before this gets out of hand.

Cue a panicked search for brain food. Some knowledge to use as a lifeline while I figure out how to be ‘legitimate’. I trawl Twitter. Google my heart out. Scroll Medium like a woman possessed. I find lots of treasures, consume them, and tuck them away in a list on Evernote.

Fast-forward almost twelve months, and I realise the list is wasted on my eyes only. So I send it to my fellow UX writers at the BBC. They add a load of their go-to gems (three cheers for collaboration — thank you Gillian, Shilpa and Fiona!).

And now, it’s a mega list.

So here it is.

I hope you find it helpful.

Books

Content Design by Sarah Richards

Conversational Design by Erika Hall

The Content Strategy Toolkit by Meghan Casey

Why you need a content team and how to build one by Rachel McConnell

Microcopy by Kinneret Yifrah

Content Strategy for the Web by Kristina Halvorson

Microcopy by Niaw de Leon

Copywriting by Mark Shaw

Everybody Writes by Ann Handley

Writing for Designers by Scott Kubie

Podcasts

The Content Strategy Podcast hosted by Kristina Halvorson

Insert Content Here hosted by Jeff Eaton

Scriptorium, a content strategy podcast

Content Design Podcast hosted by Vanessa Barlow

VUX World hosted by Kane Sims

End note: this list is no doubt missing some amazing ‘whatttt how did you miss that?!’ resources. Please do share them with me! Let’s turn the comments into a tasty list of UX writing goodness :)

📝 Read this story later in Journal.

🗞 Wake up every Sunday morning to the week’s most noteworthy Tech stories, opinions, and news waiting in your inbox: Get the noteworthy newsletter >

--

--