13 — brain dump part 2 + personal experience

Katherlyn
3 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Well in my previous post, you would have seen that I’m very inspired by the designs shows, and various exhibitions I saw. I have also researched more online on what stress and emotions mean to others and how they express it in their own way. It is very important to understand the way others vent their anger, vent their frustration, and the way they adopt different ways to express all these emotions. Well, I guess here is another brain dump moment… and also my personal experience in going to such places which aim to help “relieve” the stress and frustration pent up within me.

EXHIBITION 1:
A pressure relief room is showcased at an exhibition in Shanghai, June 29, 2017.

EXHIBITION 2:
Green plants are on display to help people relieve pressure at an exhibition in Shanghai, June 29, 2017.

My thoughts: I feel that this was quite confusing for me to understand (?). As I didn’t really think that plants will help much in relieving stress and pressure. But I was talking to my friend about this particular exhibition and she mentioned that it can be a stress-relieving hobby for some people hence this is probably why the artist decided to place these plants in this exhibition. Further research done online also proves to be true as caring for plants can reduce physiological and psychological stress as compared with mental work. This may be because caring for plants suppresses sympathetic nervous system activity and promotes comfortable, relaxed, and natural feelings.

EXHIBITION 3:
Toys help people relieve pressure at an exhibition in Shanghai, June 29, 2017.

My thoughts: I played with this toy before and it produces a weird cry whenever you squeeze it. I think that this is essentially similar to stress balls whereby people squeeze them when they feel frustrated. Personally, I think it helps as a short-term kind of relief and it’s more of an “in the moment” venting of stress/anger.

EXHIBITION 4:
A room where participants can throw bowls to release tension is on show in an exhibition in Shanghai, June 29, 2017.

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE
I will be sharing about my personal experience to The Fragment Room

I feel that this is very similar to The Fragment Room in Singapore. This whole concept of “destroying things” to vent out the inner frustration and stress is quite interesting. Recently I went to the fragment room as I felt that I have a lot of pent-up anger, stress, and unhappiness I want to release, and going there might be the best place.

I have to admit, it was quite an enjoyable process, as I get to pick a weapon of my choice, items I want to destroy and I can throw them onto the walls or hit them with the weapon I have chosen.

Yes that’s me on the left smashing a whisky bottle with a baseball bat. (Left image) On the right, you can pick and choose which appliances you wish to destroy. (Right image)

Sure, my problems are not magically resolved after smashing things here but I guess my emotions felt a lot lighter and I was in a better mood after venting all that frustration and stress out.

--

--

Katherlyn

Branding Designer & Content Creator. Always on the hunt for exciting life adventures and side hustles I can do while traveling