Holy Crap, I Spontaneously Booked A Trip To Spain

Seeking advice, tips, warnings, and whatever else you can tell me!

--

I’ve never felt more free in my life.

I’ve been wanting to travel for years. Nowhere in particular, I just wanted to go and see more and be more and experience more and learn about somewhere new and just live.

The past few weeks have really taken a lot out of me. From a lack of sleep and appetite and a spike in insecurity I have been drained entirely. I needed something to bring me back to life. Unexpectedly a friend of mine reached out via Snapchat and mentioned that she was looking for someone to travel to Spain with in April.

I immediately was like, “fuck yes”. I took a few days to mull it over as to not be impulsive and then together we texted and booked the flights. I instantly felt a sense of relief, a sense of freedom, a sense of adventure, and a sense that life was slowly entering back into my dull and tired body.

I don’t know this girl very well, but I know her well enough. She’s going through similar hardships and I know she has just the personality needed to bring my personality back to life.

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I’ve never traveled this far out of the country and I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t nervous, because I am scared as hell.

A great boss once told me:

“Progress is uncomfortable. People stay where they are because it’s easy, it’s comfortable, it doesn't take much effort. But change, and growth, and success, and progress; all of those things happen when you step outside of your normal life and allow yourself to be uncomfortable.”

- Tim Sullivan, the best clinical director ever

If anyone has any advice, tips, precautions, or ideas for me for this trip, I honestly beg you to reach out and connect with me. I’ve never experienced something like this and could any help! I’ll be traveling to Madrid and staying there for seven days.

--

--

Katie Caisse

A PhD student and behavior analyst writing about love, relationships, and life. Discovering the benefits of plant-based eating while exploring how to self-love.