I Decided to Brave the Barbell Section of the Gym

It became the most comfortable place for me to be a woman.

Katie Hyson
7 min readApr 11, 2019
Photo by Leon Martinez from Pexels

Three years ago I applied for a front desk position at a gym.

I am so overqualified, I thought. I have years of front desk administrative experience. I’m going to own this interview.

When I arrived for the interview, I noticed the front desk employees looked like fitness models.

They probably noticed I was wearing business clothes from Ross Dress for Less, and that it looked like my first time walking into a gym since high school.

It was.

I walked into the manager’s office bright and confident. She was so lucky to have me.

“Do you have any sales experience?”

“What?”

“Sales?”

“No.”

“Okay, tell me about your fitness journey.”

“My fitness journey? Well, my fitness journey. It’s been a journey, I’ll tell you that!”

“Do you go to the gym?”

“Um, my fitness journey has been more of like an outdoor journey? With some yoga?”

“Have you ever been a gym member?”

--

--