Book Review: The Songs of Us

K A Kenzie
3 min readMay 24, 2018

--

Last week I had to spend the weekend in hospital but I was lucky to have The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper to keep me company. Thank you, Mai Taylor, from Mai’s Musings for recommending and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy to give an honest review.

Book Review for The Songs of Us

The Songs of Us Book Review

Title: The Songs of Us

Author: Emma Cooper

Publisher: Headline

Release Date: 31st May for e-book 20th September paperback

Genre: Romance, Contemporary fiction

Blurb

‘Quirky, clever, and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again’
Katie Fforde

‘This is a very special book indeed: funny, powerful, heart-wrenching and so poignant’
Jo Thomas

‘One of my favourites of 2018’ Amazon reviewer

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.

If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.

But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.

Readers love The Songs of Us:

‘Rarely does a book come along that is as unique and mesmerising as The Songs Of Us

‘Reminiscent of (and in my humble opinion right up there with) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and Cecilia Ahern’s PS I Love You

‘It had me laughing and crying in equal measures’

My Thoughts

The imagery Emma Cooper’s writing evoked in the first few pages made me splutter and a chuckle and I knew I was going to enjoy this book. The writing is strong and I instantly connected to the flawed characters of the King’s dysfunctional but loving family unit. Melody, Flynn, and Rose share their perspectives as they all cope with the consequences of Melody’s neurological condition in their own way. I cringed and laughed with them as Melody’s singing provided many unforgettable moments. The premise of singing when anxious sounded absurd but it quickly becomes believable. Emma Cooper has a talent for blending humour with heartbreak to produce a unique, warm, funny, heartbreaking and memorable read. I have yet to start a new book days later because it refuses to let me go.

I wish I could see the sculptures and art created in the book; they are described in intricate detail and they sound stunning.

Music plays a huge role in the story so expect many earworms or involuntary singing along while reading. The clever use of songs adds to the flow and pace of the novel. I was delighted to discover an accompanying playlist on Spotify.

Would I recommend?

This is one of my favourite books in this genre and once it is released will live on my forever shelf. It reminds me of Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes at their best. You will need a box of tissues from the start to wipe the tears from laughter and sobbing.

I can not wait to read more from this novelist.

Happy reading!

Kate Kenzie's Blog

Load More…

Follow on Instagram

Originally published at Kate Kenzie.

--

--

K A Kenzie

Full-time daydreamer, aspiring YA and children's writer and book blogger. Loves dragons, books, tea, cake and snuggly socks.