Year in review 2018 of favorite books

Katja Toropainen
2 min readJan 1, 2019

--

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

At the beginning of this year, I set myself a reading challenge of 20 books. It was just a bit more than last year and I achieved it quite easily in the end. I read 21 books. I could have read much more, to be honest. So next year my goal is at least 30 books.

When I was younger, I used to say that my dream at some point in my life is to have a home with a rooftop terrace, a grand piano, and a library. I have come to realize that I might not have a grandiose physical library by the time I’ll have my own apartment. Luckily, I already have my favorite digital library Goodreads that I like to use.

In addition to good old books, this year I found podcasts — meaning that I found great podcasts and started listening to those a lot. I also found the convenience of audiobooks and started listening to those as well, although I enjoy reading more.

As I like to read other’s favorite book listings, and to keep track of things:

Here’s my top 10 books of 2018:

  1. Becoming by Michelle Obama
  2. Factfulness by Hans Rosling
  3. How the Internet Happened by Brian McCullough
  4. Bad Blood by John Carreyrou
  5. Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari
  6. Brotopia by Emily Chang
  7. Clean Meat by Paul Shapiro
  8. Transforming Nokia by Risto Siilasmaa
  9. Reset by Ellen Pao
  10. Quiet by Susan Cain

Looking back to this list, I wonder where the fiction is. Last truly great fiction books I read were in 2017, sadly. There are also many startup/Internet/Silicon Valley related books due to my current interests tied to my work. 4/10 of these are by female authors, quite well.

Next year:

  • My goal is to read at least 30 books, maybe even 50.
  • I want to read more fiction and find great fiction.
  • I want to read classics.

You can find me on Goodreads here.

--

--

Katja Toropainen

Founder of Inklusiiv. Inclusive technology & finance. Past: Chief Curator @SlushHQ. Books, nature & sports.