Dear Future Love,

Brandi CK LaPerle
3 min readMay 30, 2022

--

Every so often I write cheesy love letters to the future love of my life. It’s been brought to my attention the last one is over a year old and my future love may be feeling like I’m having too much fun alone in life to think of him (it happens)

It’s me again, your future. Just hanging around this place called Earth, planning romantic weekends alone for starwatching, as I sip decaf. I know it may sound strange to hear that I’ve retired drinking hot chocolate without you in that auld-man whiskey kind of way. Please don’t think less of me for it, the sugar content and caffeine aren’t the most agreeable these days.

I have been thinking of you a bit lately, wondering when our eyes will meet for the first time. Each day is one day closer to our destiny, but I’m in no rush. Living alone isn’t so bad, you see. I don’t have to share my snacks, and I’ve grown accustomed to hogging the entirety of the bed.

Do you think I’ll like you enough to share? Such small mysteries only the universe can know.

Perhaps one day you will join me for nerdy astronomical events to stargaze and make love under the moonlight where beds would only serve to hinder the experience.

I wonder if you think of me when you watch the stars. I haven’t met you yet, but I know the feeling will be like finding home when I do. Hopefully, I will recognize the smile, and you’ll laugh at all my stupid jokes (at least I think I’m funny). My best friend always believed you and I would find one another, and sometimes I think he will guide me in your direction in some little way… this could be problematic since he always drove to Sherwood Park instead of turning off to where I actually live. You’re probably halfway to Mumbai on foot if he’s guiding you too. Not that I believe in that sort of thing, but sometimes my brain wanders as I search for the ridiculous in the ordinary.

He was a great man, my friend.

I wish you could know him as I did.

Hopefully you are busy pursuing your own passions, and look forward to using my bum as a table when you’re home gaming with the boys online.

I’ll try not to distract you much, if you promise not to get mad if I spill pizza on the couch.

I’ve concluded I’m more of an albatross for a mate. Either that, or I’ve watched too many Casual Geographic videos involving birds. I know people often compare their devotion to that of penguins, but I don’t think they fully understand the ways a penguin will cheat on their mate with… any inanimate object, or sexy looking hole in the ground.

An albatross can soar in the sky for days without need for ground. They are among the most loyal in the animal kingdom and, like myself, will go years without a mate in wait for the right one. There may be no such thing as perfect, but I’m not looking for much these days. A best friend, a passionate lover; a partner that will read from The Origin of Feces with me over a picnic in the woods?

I’m in no rush. We will find one another when the time comes, and that’s good enough for me.

Have a beautiful summer! When you look at the stars remember I stand under the same sky as you and we’re never all that far apart. Perhaps you’re kissing another woman today. That’s okay, handsome man. She will never be me for you.

Always & Forever

Love,

B.

--

--

Brandi CK LaPerle

Indigenous Model, Actress, Spokesperson, Public Speaker, Stand-Up Comedy, Endometriosis Health Activist, Patient Advocacy Advisor, Worldwide EndoMarch Alberta