Katrina Heneghan
4 min readMay 12, 2020

--

Black Pudding

Black Pudding- Not What You Think- A commentary on the deception of a name, and perhaps your mom and dad

A commentary on the deception of a name, and perhaps your mom and dad

Black Pudding- Not What You Might Think.

I grew up in a typical Irish American Chicago family. I stress all three because they do combine to have a unique perspective. For instance, I never knew tea could be served without milk until I was in my teens. In fact, I never even knew that there was any other tea besides Barry tea. Garlic was the strongest herb we used in our house. Bell peppers became a thing that I ate when I was in college and not living at home. And I never and I mean NEVER ate instant mashed potatoes. It simply was not allowed. Every night for dinner we had potatoes in some form- mashed, boiled (not a fan of), roasted and baked were pretty much the choices. Oven fries when we wanted to change things up. It just wasn’t my family, either. The majority of my friends were also first generation Irish Americans and had similar menus in their home. As you might see, it was not so unusual in our perspectives. You went out to play and came home for dinner- meat, potatoes, and some boiled veg. If you were lucky, there might be some dessert. However, that was not a guarantee- only if you were lucky. And if you were really lucky, mom ordered a pizza. This was an unbelievable treat, and often was an…

--

--