Cannot Predict Now: ft. Sascha Akhtar

Katy Telling
3 min readSep 6, 2020

--

Cannot Predict Now is a Q&A series curated by Katy Telling of PoeticRituals. This week we speak with the prolific innovator, Sascha Akhtar about silent poetry, futurism, and Leonora Carrington.

1. Who are you?

Sascha Aurora Akhtar, author of 6 poetry collections including a visual 'deck' of poetry, Only Dying Sparkles. I tutor with the Poetry School, mostly creating linkages between ancient esoteric practices/ magic & poetry. My 6th collection, Astra Inclinant, is a poetic documention of a claircognizant’s journey. It includes hand-drawn star charts & an introduction by astrologer - the great Glitter Oracle.

2. Describe your current project.

Currently contemplating the creation of poetry not as any kind of object at all. During the lockdown, my guides sent me to a forest where I went everyday to tune in. To receive gnosis for re-balancing - finding equilibrium again. Butoh has taught me all I ever wanted as an artist. I am working on ideas of silent poetry - the non-verbal phrase, gesture - non-hierarchical poetry.

3. Which artist or movement has most impacted what you create?

I have created visual poetry that is inspired by the ethos of the fin-de-siecle. Futurism. I like going back to time-based practice. I like making stencils out of frisk paper with an exacto knife. I like utilizing principles of old russian propaganda art. I have also worked with photography & text. I love working with handwriting.

4. Are there recurring symbols in your work?

My art has always been informed by my dedication to the Mysteries. Symbols are the greatest language.

5. Which writer or aspect of language has most impacted your perspective?

I create visual poetry on the page, I also created a 'deck' of poetry cards with a transcendental artist. I mostly did multi-media installation art in the 90's. Now I write books. I also have been a filmmaker. My influences run the gamut of the arts. Bill Viola. Ancient illuminated manuscripts. Vanitas. Ancient magic texts. The writing of Leonora Carrington. Everything.

6. Describe the environment in which you create.

I have a home studio. Nothing fancy. Slide scanner. When I worked more in video I had an editing suite. Cutting mat. The environment transforms to meet the requirements of the art.

7. What are your preferred art supplies and mediums?

Cutting knives, inks, fine art pens, all kinds of random junk or because I am quite obsessed with handwriting right now - a heap of choices of paper & fountain pens/calligraphic pens.

8. Is there a hidden part of you accessed only through your creative process and works?

No doubt. I talk a great deal about channelling. My art has been my greatest source of healing. My practice only reveals itself by journeying inwards & the inner psychogeography is a mysterious place. Even a lifetime of devotion to inner work is not enough to reveal the secrets within.

9. Do you consider art or writing to be a meditative or spiritual practice?

yes

10. Describe your future masterpiece.

I don’t really connect with the word 'masterpiece' tho’! Strange that. Maybe it’s because the dissolution of the self & ego is part of my inner work. My works come through me. At the moment I am putting together something for the upcoming Rewilding Anthology with Crested Tit Collective? Somehow translating to a 2-D format the butoh work in the forest? And I am very excited for some handwritten anti-hierarchical visual based poetry to be revealed! In the upcoming Anthropocene Every Day Anthology by Dostoevsky Wannabe!

--

--

Katy Telling

Published writer, mixed media artist, & curator of @PoeticRituals. Investigating experimental writing & visual poetry through interviews, essays, & more.