3 years ago I wrote a tiny program in python that compiles python scripts with embedded test cases without any extra imports in the scripts. It has since then received a bit of appreciation which amounts to so much in my life. You could relate to this if you are an open-source lover/blogger.

Last week I got a call from a python enthusiast. He found my tool interesting and got to know about me from there.

So after the call I instantly checked my github to see if there were any updates(I don’t usually check) and I was surprised to find issues open and PRs on the package. I think this is the moment that triggered me to publish my package and write this blog.

You can find a self-explanatory README on the package so I won’t repeat myself.

I first reviewed the PRs, merged and closed them, added improvements to console output, improved documentation. Then I registered my package on pipy which enables pip installs. If you want to publish your own python package here is the guide to follow. Then I published and tagged my app and wrote up this small blog post to say thanks for the recognition and contribution as this is the only driving force in me to do the things that I do.

PS: I am also working on re-releasing an npm package(and many more) that I published long ago and it might interest you:

So thats all for now folks. Next time!

--

--