The 5 best books of the 21st century – Part 1

Kavitha Murali
4 min readJul 13, 2024

--

The New York Times just released its curated version of the 100 best books of the 21st century. 100 books in just the 23 and half years gone by.

But no one person’s best list can do justice to another person’s, even if one of the people is New York Times.

So I started making my own list of favourites from this century. Of books that have stayed with me long after I read them, because of a great story, some great writing, and deep characterisations. They may not all be “critically acclaimed” but the critic in me approves.

Also, as you might have guessed, it didn’t end at 5. So this is Part 1 of the list. More parts to follow.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

It was a rainy Friday in 2012. I started reading Book Thief at 10pm thinking I would plough through a few pages and save the rest for the weekend. Next I knew, I was up till 6am finishing it. Book Thief is one of my greatest reads of this century, because it takes a special level of smartness intertwining books and war, the horrors of death and the empathy of humans.

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth

I gifted myself a hard copy of Suitable Boy with my first salary. I even wrote a little note on the front page to record that moment for myself. Suitable Boy blew my mind for 1,000 pages straight, bringing family drama and the politics of the early 20th century together. The interspersing poetry was a bonus treat. I couldn’t handle that the book ended (could it not have been a perennial saga?) and walked around for days in a Vikram Seth withdrawal trance.

This Divided Island by Samanth Subramanian

The Sri Lankan civil war and its aftermath have left me sleepless many nights. This Divided Island is the first recorded book of primary research from the ground immediately after the war covering perspectives from Tamils, Lankans, Hindus, Muslims, Christians, rich, poor, old, young, the living and the dying. Samanth is a fantastic journalist and an excellent writer.

Invisible Women by Caroline Criado Perez

If ever a book can make one uncontrollably angry, this is it. If ever a book needs to be mandatory reading for every school-going young adult, this is it. From car safety to town planning, this book talks about how everything we use today is designed for men, ignoring one full half of the population that has a bodily different constitution and life needs that are absolutely different. This book should be on everyone’s must read and top list, ideally.

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

I can still taste the apple-flavour laced honey in my brain, from bees that feast in an apple orchard before producing honey. Some books have smart plots. Some books have great structure. Some others, some others, just tug gently at the heart strings with a plot and a structure, but most importantly because of their characters. The Count (the protagonist) has my heart. Always.

That brings us to the end of Part 1 of my best books of this century. Stay tuned in for the subsequent parts. Also, share your picks in the comments while at it?

--

--

Kavitha Murali

I write, and so I am. Published author. Book reviewer. Chronicler of the Working Woman.