Grab that chance : ScholarX 🚀

Kavishka Gamage
3 min readJul 10, 2021

--

Have you ever worried about a missed opportunity ?

Most of the time answer would be YES. I am going to tell you about a life time opportunity that you shouldn’t miss if you are a Sri Lankan undergraduate.

ScholarX ?

ScholarX is a six month mentoring program organized by Sustainable Education Foundation (SEF) in Sri Lanka. ScholarX connects Sri Lankan students with experts from all over the world, in both industry and academia. These mentors provide mentoring for various disciplines. Each mentee get assigned to a mentor according to their preference in the evaluation process. You have the chance to select preferred mentors on your interest area. In this year, we were able to select up to three mentors when applying to the mentoring program.

You can find more details about application process and eligible criteria from the following resources.

ScholarX Web page

ScholarX Facebook page

ScholarX LinkedIn Page

Now I will give a quick glimpse of my experience with ScholarX mentoring program.

First let me tell about my mentor Dr. Kasun Bandara, a research fellow at the University of Melbourne, Australia. His area of interests are time series forecasting, deep neural networks, and interpretable machine learning models. During the time of application period I worked as a Data Analyst intern and contributed on project related to Anomaly detection. At that time, I was curious about time series analysis. Since my interest lies with Data Science field, I was very happy when I got to know my assigned mentor.

In our first introductory session, I meet up with other four mentees who are also assigned to Dr. Kasun Bandara. We all got to know each other's interests and aim of joining the ScholarX program. The introductory session led by Dr. Kasun Bandara was very organized, and he shared his journey of being an undergraduate to research fellow at University of Melbourne, Australia with us. Since all mentees have few common goals, we agreed to meetup weekly in one meeting. This will be an added advantage due to the fact that we will be able to learn from each other.

As a final year Computer Science undergraduate who has to conduct an individual research, the mentoring of Dr. Kasun Bandara is a great help. We had a few sessions about developing our research skills and studying in abroad. I will come back to you in more details about these valuable sessions in my future articles💻.

I would like to thank SEF for voluntarily organizing this premium free mentoring for us. This is a lifetime opportunity that I didn’t miss. So if you haven't applied for the ScholarX, keep in touch with them in order to get notify when a new batch application dates released.

Let’s meet again with a new, exciting article of my ScholarX journey.

--

--

Kavishka Gamage

Machine Learning Engineer at Octave⚡ | Data Science Enthusiast 💻| Computer Science Graduate🎓 | 📚