Why Beyoncé holding an American flag makes you uncomfortable

My complicated relationship with the flag as a Black American

Kim Diggs
3 min readMar 25, 2024
Photo courtesy of beyonce.com

As soon as I saw Beyoncé’s album cover for “Cowboy Carter,” I knew this would make people uncomfortable. The fact that she’s committed to a full country album and has leaned into a very pointed aesthetic has turned some people off, but this flag? That was the last straw for lots of Black people who may have given this album a listen otherwise.

If I weren’t a fan of Beyoncé and had not thought deeper about the history behind this album and her socio-political messaging throughout the years, I’d pass based on the imagery, too.

So, let’s address it head-on: Is there something wrong with Beyoncé holding an American flag on this album cover? My short answer is no with the caveat that this may be ill-timed given America’s assistance of Israel right now. That’s a whole different topic.

Before I share my current analysis of this imagery, I’ll be honest. I hated this album cover initially. I love Beyoncé, but this cover gave MAGA at first glance.

As a Black woman from Texas, I grew an aversion to the American flag as an act of survival. Part of my childhood was spent in a slower-paced suburb of Dallas deeply rooted in rodeo culture. Over the years…

--

--

Kim Diggs

I'm a queer, black content marketing pro who loves pop culture. If I put that in a blender, you'd get my corner of Medium. Follow if that sounds like your jam.