“From Pips to Pixels: My Unconventional Ongoing Journey to Tech”

Kayiranga
3 min readNov 5, 2023

--

I’m not your typical tech enthusiast. In fact, not too long ago, I was deeply immersed in the world of forex trading. It was 2019, and I was just a second-year student at the University of Rwanda. Little did I know that my journey would take an unexpected turn, eventually leading me into the realms of embedded programming, cybersecurity, and the fascinating world of tiny machine learning.

The Forex Trading Years

My early years in forex trading were marked by a series of failures. The emotional rollercoaster of wins and losses taught me a crucial lesson: resilience. As a university student, I faced setbacks, but I learned not to let my emotions dictate my decisions. Then came the cryptocurrency bubble of 2017, a time when FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) was at its peak. I couldn’t resist the temptation, and like many others, I found myself caught up in the whirlwind. It wasn’t all losses, though. The experience was a valuable one; it sparked my interest in the financial markets and ultimately set the stage for my pivot to tech.

Transition to the Tech Industry

As the COVID-19 pandemic swept across the world, I found myself at a crossroads. The world was changing, and so was my perspective. The uncertainties of the pandemic prompted me to explore new opportunities, and it was at this point that I decided to venture into the tech industry. The initial challenges were overwhelming. I was armed with a thirst for knowledge but unsure of where to begin.

Gaining Knowledge and Skills

I began my journey by immersing myself in the world of technology. I devoured online courses, books, and articles on programming, networking, and cybersecurity. The learning curve was steep, but I was determined to emerge from the fog of uncertainty with a strong foothold in the tech domain.

Pursuing Cybersecurity and Education

One field that always piqued my interest was cybersecurity. The idea of safeguarding digital assets and networks from threats was both exciting and challenging. It prompted me to pursue a Master’s degree in wireless sensor networking, a decision that aligned perfectly with my passion for security and technology.

Tiny Machine Learning (ML) and Ongoing Learning

In the midst of my journey, I stumbled upon the world of tiny machine learning (ML). The concept of implementing ML on resource-constrained devices fascinated me. While I’m still learning, I’ve already begun to apply tiny ML in my projects, opening up a new world of possibilities. It’s a reminder that learning is an ongoing journey, and my path as a software developer has only just begun.

Challenges and Achievements

The journey was far from smooth. Challenges were aplenty, and imposter syndrome was a constant companion. Yet, every challenge was an opportunity to grow. Through perseverance, I overcame obstacles and began to see the fruits of my labor.

Future Goals

As I stand today, I have aspirations in embedded programming, cybersecurity, and the ever-evolving domain of tiny ML. My journey is far from complete, and I’m excited to see where this path leads.

My journey from forex trading to embedded programming, cybersecurity, and the world of tiny ML has been a rollercoaster of experiences. It’s a reminder that our paths are rarely linear, and unexpected detours can lead to exciting destinations. The lessons of resilience, adaptability, and the thirst for knowledge have become the cornerstones of my career transition. I hope my story inspires others who are navigating their own career journeys, reminding them that it’s never too late to explore new horizons.

Thanks for reading!

P.S: I am still at college🕺🏻

--

--