Kayla Christine Whited
3 min readOct 13, 2015

Western Washington University’s Stone Enclosure: Rock Rings

Located on the tip top of Washington state is the beautiful Western Washington University. Western is a liberal arts school, full of intelligent, creative-minded individuals. Western has a unique collection of interactive sculptures that have all shown up over time , serving different purposes and representations. On the south side of campus, visible while taking a stroll to or from the Fairhaven Residences (where I live) lies a gorgeous stone sculpture made by artist Nancy Holt. The rock is Brown Mountain stone, said to be composed of six different colors, matching the colorful terrain we have on campus. Like most of Holt’s work, the rock enclosure she created for Western has a great deal to do with the sky, specifically astronomy. The structure is calculated on Earth according to the celestial layout of the North Star, similar to the way Northwest Coast navigators calculate when setting a path for their ships. The circular holes seen on the structure refer to NE, E, SE, NW, W, and SW as you would spot on a compass.

Rock Rings, Holt’s name for the art piece, really grabbed my attention within the first couple days of my 2015 Freshman school year. I vividly remember walking to class to see two students on top of the enclosure, the young woman swooning over the man’s guitar playing. When I visited the sculpture for the first time, I couldn’t help but notice and touch the incredible texture of the stone walls. I could make out shades of purple, blue, grey, and orange embedded in the rock. Alone, I watched students rush to class while I marveled at this majestic piece of work. As I sat inside the structure, I could hear voices coming from the Arboretum and the sound of wind rummaging through the trees. The smell of sweet Washington air made its way to me, reminding me of the hours I had spent outside as a kid. The sculpture gave me a mild sense of bliss and stress relief, a feeling I believe every college student needs to experience every now and then.

On other occasions walking past the structure, i’ve observed students reading, playing instruments, eating, or relaxing on top of or around the enclosure; however, the ambience of the location and the reason for its visitors definitely changes depending on the time of day. For example, on a rare instance walking to my dorm at night I saw a man leaning on the stonework, possibly waiting to meet-up with a friend or possibly waiting to use the shelter to do something a bit more shady. Personally, being there after the sun goes down bestows an almost uneasy feeling rather than the peaceful atmosphere felt during the day. You never really know what people are up to at night, especially around a structure that gives you so much privacy.

Although there are several interactive sculptures around campus, like
“Stadium Piece”, known to students as “The Stairs to Nowhere” or there’s the “Feats of Strength” known to students as “The Little Green Men”, Rock Rings is by far the best of them all. It is mysterious to those who have never seen it, undoubtedly pulling at their eagerness to check it out for themselves and is unique amongst the other pieces placed around campus. Unlike the other pieces, it doesn’t have some student-named nickname, making it a bit difficult to reference when telling my peers about it. Rock Rings is physically unlike any of the other sculptures because of its detachment to the common “hot spots” found on campus, as well as its overall connection to the city of Bellingham. Its seclusion allows the space to have few visitors, keeping it quiet, clean, and intimate. It’s a wondrous place for students to visit in search of fresh air, a quiet atmosphere, and maybe even for a little art inspiration. This site will continue to be a place I frequent around campus, whether I am there to study, get away from the dorms, or to meet new people who also enjoy the space. To my readers, if you ever visit Western Washington University’s lovely campus, I highly recommend this campus attraction to anyone who has yet to admire it.