Not okay.

Kayla Roark
3 min readFeb 18, 2020

--

This Valentine’s Day, I received the following text from a client of mine.

He happens to be the CEO of a multinational corporation.

We had lunch together 5 days earlier to discuss future work contracts.

I should mention that we are both married with kids (his are 20 yrs older than mine) — and this is well known because we talk about it during lunch.

whoa, it’s 8am and you’re already getting your creep on?

Cue inner panic :

Wtf does he mean by delicious moment ?! Is that even a thing people say?

Lunch wasn’t particularly delicious…

Am I overreacting or is this totally inappropriate?

*Polls 5 people*

Okay, 100% consensus…inappropriate

Ignore it. Don’t lose the client…

Ugh, so I trade my self-respect for money?

It’s not *that* bad. I’ve received worse.

But what if it gets worse? Maybe it’s a test to see if I’m open to this.

If I do nothing, what example am I setting for my daughters?

What work climate are they going to inherit?

Ok chiche…I can’t ignore this.

Drafting a response…inner debate continues :

Is it too nice?

Is it too mean?

I don’t want to make him feel bad.

What are the chances we can keep working together after this?

Get 5 previously mentioned people to sign off on the following response….

Take a deep breath. Push send.

Hours passed before I got up the guts to write back.

Feeling brave. Report back to my 5-person support team, “I sent it!!”

Just when my feminist karma was soaring….it got worse…

Can we all agree that this response is completely infuriating?

AND NOW I’M PISSED.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I SPENT SO MUCH TIME AND ENERGY ON THIS.

You’re not even going to fake an apology?

*I’m* the delusional one for not understanding your awkward af text???

Let’s all play dumb for a minute and pretend that is the case…you would *still* apologize, try to explain the misunderstanding…profusely.

If I had any doubt before, now I’m sure.

It’s never someone hierarchically junior to you.

Why am I sharing this? It’s not the scandal of the century. But unfortunately, it is super common.

Too often we silence our discomfort, our outrage, our protests.

For the first time, I spoke up.

If my story resonates with you, maybe next time you can too.

It’s easier to be a feminist in theory, but that’s not going to get us anywhere.

--

--