Karen C
3 min readJun 2, 2020

Sharing something I wrote as a blog post on the intranet where I work (ammended to remove internal links)…

“In case anyone is wondering.. I’m not ok 😕 We are not ok 😔”

This was the first line of a post on LinkedIn from Hannah Awonuga, VP of Diversity and inclusion at Barclays. I don’t know Hannah, but that single line got me in the gut because I know exactly how she feels.

I had yesterday off work. A day I’d booked a few weeks back, to have a long weekend. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

Anyone who uses social media or who has seen or heard the news cannot have failed to notice that we have once again reached a point where racism is a big talking point.

This week (or month) has been especially tough for myself and many of my fellow Black friends and colleagues. The video of the killing of George Floyd by police officers has haunted many, even the screenshots are distressing. It has been a catalyst for protests around the world and led to many brands and organisations publishing statements denouncing racism (although let’s wait for actions before celebrating).

It has also given more light to countless other examples of Black people who have died, or been targeted because of their race both in the UK and the US.

We also know that Black people are ‘four times more likely to die from Covid-19’ and some of us have lost family members or been connected to those who have lost loved ones to this awful virus.

It’s exhausting.

It’s upsetting.

It’s infuriating.

As lockdown relaxes, there’s a possibility that some people will feel even more anxious about going outside — whether for exercise or commuting.

So what does this post have to do with sport or physical activity? Nothing. I guess my focus here is mental health and the wellbeing of our colleagues.

As Shenequa Golding writes:

“We’re biting our tongues, swallowing our rage and fighting back tears to remain professional because expressing that hurt caused by witnessing Black death is considered more unprofessional, than black men and women actually being killed.”

This morning, the always brilliant Clara Amfo, spoke from the heart on her mental health and how it has been affected by this too. Obviously I cried, because I’m super emotional at the moment, but also because she verbalised exactly how I feel.

If you’re in the UK, I’d urge you to listen to the whole section from her BBC Radio 1 show (starts at around 10 mins in here) and the songs that follow, but if not, here’s a tiny clip that is being shared on Twitter.

So if you’ve reached this far into my slightly rambling post despite feeling slightly uncomfortable, and are wondering what you can do, here are a few suggestions:

  • Consider that some of your Black colleagues may need a mental health day, some support, or just might not have the energy to engage as much as they usually would.
  • Have a quick read of this article (it’s practically perfect).
  • Take a look at this piece — ‘How Managers Can (and Should) Address Race and Violence in The News’
  • Do your research — Google is your best friend and it’s free. There are amazing books, essays, people to follow on social media that can help.