How I Permanently Got My Google Account Banned

Shoto A.
3 min readAug 25, 2023

I was a Google fan until February 2023 when my account was permanently banned. You might say, “You did something wrong.”

Yes.

I committed a significant mistake by placing my trust in Google and storing all my photos, videos, memories, documents, apps, some BigQuery works, emails, and more.

How it All Began

I created my first Google account in 2012 and never changed it since. I established it because I didn’t have an email address at the time. Over time, I became accustomed to using it. I had my own YouTube channel with 3–4 videos, I purchased an Android smartphone, making it more natural to use Google services. I uploaded all my content to Drive, including my school projects on Docs and Sheets. My entire digital life revolved around Google products — all my belongings!

As years went by, my Google account remained a constant. Although I changed smartphones frequently, I never changed my account. If I ever wanted to revisit the past, I could peruse emails from my classmates, evoking cherished memories. Many of these classmates are now in different countries, and sadly, I’ve lost contact with them.

Long Story Short

A decade after creating my account, I became a father to my daughter. As any proud father would, I recorded numerous videos of our time together. My gallery automatically synced with Google Photos (for which I paid $9.99 monthly for 2 TB of storage). Among these videos…

--

--