Heaven Calling

Kaz Rochford
1 min readNov 30, 2021
A family photograph

Life is hard without my Mum
I miss her, I loved her dearly
When the grief was fresh and raw
It was hard to see things clearly

There was a hollow feeling deep inside
That nothing seemed to fill
Family and friends made soothing sounds
But it was such a bitter pill

I became again a fragile child
Who couldn’t find their way home
I lost my sense of direction
And didn’t know where to roam

The days and weeks meandered by
I wept at night alone
If there’s a place called heaven
Why aren’t they on the phone?

And then I woke one morning
The pillow wasn’t wet
I hadn’t cried, how could I
Be so selfish to forget

Then a voice from somewhere
Told me it’s okay
You’re not alone, I’m with you
As if I wouldn’t stay

--

--

Kaz Rochford

I write about relationships and life experiences. I also dabble in poetry, fiction and videos...